Saturday, June 28, 2014

Review! Pretty When She Destroys by Rhiannon Frater

Amaliya Vezorak always believed she was destined to live a failed life in obscurity until she was brutally murdered by an ancient vampire named The Summoner and reborn as a powerful vampire necromancer.

The Summoner’s power did not diminish with his death. His long-laid plans are about to bring an endless night to the world, and once the veil between the living and the abyss collapses, reality will be forever altered. The followers of The Summoner are preparing to claim dominion over humanity, which spells doom for Amaliya's new world and everyone she cares about.

As Amaliya, Cian, and the others prepare for their final battle, it becomes increasingly clear that their ragtag group of humans and supernaturals will have to face the forces of The Summoner alone. Though the cabal is growing stronger in their abilities, they are depending on Amaliya to lead them to victory.

Now the young woman who spent most of her life running away from trouble has to save the world.


Title: Pretty When She Destroys (Pretty When She Kills #3)

Author: Rhiannon Frater

Genres: Horror, Supernatural, Vampires

Publisher: Permuted Press

Publication Date: January 14, 2014 
Picking up where Pretty When She Kills leaves off, this conclusion to the trilogy was as kick-ass as the others.

Frater's characters are all so unique that it's almost hard to believe they are figments of her imagination. And while I didn't like them all, I was most surprised by my feelings regarding Samantha taking a one-eighty. And she's not the only character to grow and gain even more depth. Every member of Cian's ragtag cabal is pretty amazing, but my favorite is Aimee, who is adorable with Cass. I'm sort of jealous of her abilities and power.

This book is action packed, and is brimming with all kinds of magic, which I find beautiful.

Like the other two books in the series, it needs the help of an editor, who can clean up the typos and word usage.

However, fans of the Pretty When She Dies series will love the tale Frater weaves with this book. The entire series is a must-read for fans of dark magic, vampires, and witches.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Rhiannon Frater was born and raised a Texan. Though she has lived in various towns all over the state, she finally settled in Austin, Texas, where she met her husband and worked as a governmental consultant.

During her travels for her job, she was inspired to write the story of two women fleeing into the Texas Hill Country in an attempt to survive the zombie apocalypse. Originally published as a serial online under the title As The World Dies, she later self-published the series in three novels to satisfy the many fans of the story. The first novel in the series, The First Days, won the 2008 Dead Letter Award for Best Book (Fiction). The second book, Fighting to Survive won the 2009 Dead Letter Award in the same category.

As The World Dies books were purchased by Tor in 2010.The first book, The First Days, was released in July 2011 and received a starred review from Publishers Weekly. The second, Fighting to Survive, was released on November 8, 2011. The third book, Siege, will be released in April 2012.

She is also the author of The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters, Pretty When She Dies: A Vampire Novel and two novels in the Vampire Bride Series (The Tale of the Vampire Bride and The Vengeance of the Vampire Bride). All her works have been optioned for either TV or film.

Rhiannon continues to live in Austin, Texas, with her husband and is now a full-time writer. She is represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry Literary + Media agency.

Read the Pretty When She Dies review here.

Read the Pretty When She Kills review here.

No comments:

Post a Comment