Monday, June 9, 2014

Review! Pretty When She Kills by Rhiannon Frater

Amaliya Vezorak never believed in happy endings.

When Amaliya harnessed her necromancer powers to defeat her greatest enemy, she believed she had finally found a happy ending with Cian, her lover and the master of Austin. That happiness is short-lived when the vampire ruling over San Antonio attempts a takeover of Austin in order to capture Amaliya and use her power for his own devices.

To make matters worse, Samantha, Cian’s ex-fiancée, is seeing ghosts, the untested vampire hunters of Austin are running scared as a supernatural war looms, a mysterious man is hunting Amaliya with the help of her one time lover, Pete, and Rachoń, the Summoner’s favorite progeny, appears to be out for revenge.

When Amaliya’s grandmother, a powerful medium, experiences terrible visions that reveal there is another necromancer vampire and she is crying out for help, Amaliya realizes happy endings do not come easily…

Title: Pretty When She Kills (Pretty When She Dies #2)

Author: Rhiannon Frater

Genres: Horror, Supernatural, Vampires

Publication Date: December 16, 2013 
Pretty When She Dies, the first book in the trilogy, had a somewhat happy ending, and I didn't have a clue where the story would go. But, once again, Rhiannon Frater takes us on one hell of a ride! The plot is well paced with twists that will surprise and delight. 

I enjoyed getting to know each of the characters a bit more in Pretty When She Kills. They are all truly unique, not cookie-cutter at all. And we are introduced to new characters, who are all interesting. One, in particular, made me say WTF to myself. But, my favorite is Eduardo, a werecoyote, who has eyes for Amaliya, which riles Cian. 

There was character growth, from Amalyia becoming more comfortable with being a vampire and learning to control her new necromancer powers to Samantha becoming more endearing and less annoying.

Because I'm a stickler for all things grammatical, I couldn't ignore the typos and incorrect word usage. It just needed another proofread. Please don't send me hate mail.

There are kick-ass moments, laugh out loud moments, and heart-breaking moments. They are well written and expertly placed throughout the novel. I highly recommend the Pretty When She Dies trilogy to vampire fans, or simply fans of supernatural, in general.


Rhiannon Frater was born and raised a Texan. Though she has lived in various towns all over the state, she finally settled in Austin, Texas, where she met her husband and worked as a governmental consultant.

During her travels for her job, she was inspired to write the story of two women fleeing into the Texas Hill Country in an attempt to survive the zombie apocalypse. Originally published as a serial online under the title As The World Dies, she later self-published the series in three novels to satisfy the many fans of the story. The first novel in the series, The First Days, won the 2008 Dead Letter Award for Best Book (Fiction). The second book, Fighting to Survive won the 2009 Dead Letter Award in the same category.

As The World Dies books were purchased by Tor in 2010.The first book, The First Days, was released in July 2011 and received a starred review from Publishers Weekly. The second, Fighting to Survive, was released on November 8, 2011. The third book, Siege, will be released in April 2012.

She is also the author of The Living Dead Boy and the Zombie Hunters, Pretty When She Dies: A Vampire Novel and two novels in the Vampire Bride Series (The Tale of the Vampire Bride and The Vengeance of the Vampire Bride). All her works have been optioned for either TV or film.

Rhiannon continues to live in Austin, Texas, with her husband and is now a full-time writer. She is represented by Hannah Gordon of the Foundry Literary + Media agency.

Read the Pretty When She Dies review here.

No comments:

Post a Comment